Lok Sabha Speaker’s List [ 1952 to Till date ]

Lok Sabha Speaker’s List [ 1952 to Till date ]

The Office of the Speaker holds a pivotal position in our parliamentary democracy. While the members of Parliament represent the individual constituencies, the Speaker represents the full power of the House itself. He or she signifies the dignity and control of the House over which he/she is leading. Therefore, the holder of this Office of great pride has to be one who can represent the House in all its manifestations.

The responsibility consigned to the Speaker is so demanding that he/she cannot afford to overlook any perspective of parliamentary life. His/Her actions come under scrutiny in the House and are also widely communicated in the mass media. With the televising of proceedings of Parliament, the small screen delivers to millions of households in the nation the day-to-day advancements in the House, making the Speaker’s responsibility all the more critical.

List of the speakers of the Lok Sabha

1Ganesh VasudevMavalankarAhmedabad15 May 1952 to 27 February 1956
2M. A. AyyangarChittoor8 March 1956 to 10 May 1957
3Hukam SinghPatiala17 April 1962 to 16 March 1967
4NeelamSanjiva ReddyHindupur17 March 1967 to 19 July 1969
5Gurdial Singh DhillonTarn Taran8 August 1969 to 19 March 1971
6Bali Ram BhagatArrah15 January 1976 to 25 March 1977
7K. S. HegdeBangalore South21 July 1977 to 21 January 1980
8BalramJakharFerozepur22 January 1980 to 27 October 1984
9Rabi RayKendrapara19 December 1989 to July 1991
10ShivrajPatilLatur10 July 1991 to 22 May 1996
11P. A. SangmaTura23 May 1996 to 23 March 1998
12G. M. C. BalayogiAmalapuram24 March 1998 to 19 October 1999
13Manohar JoshiMumbai North Central10 May 2002 to 2 June 2004
14Somnath ChatterjeeBolpur4 June 2004 to 31 May 2009
15Meira KumarSasaram4 June 2009 to 4 June 2014
16Sumitra MahajanIndore6 June 2014 to 16 June 2019
17Om BirlaKota19 June 2019 to Incumbent

Term of office of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha

  1. The Speaker holds the office for five years maximum.
  2. The Speaker holds the office from the date of his election till immediately before the first assemblage of Lok Sabha after the dissolution of one to which he/she was elected.
  3. He or she is qualified for re-election.
  4. On the dissolution of the Lok Sabha, although the Speaker discontinues being a member of the House, he/she does not renounce his/her office.
  5. The Speaker may resign from office any moment by writing under his/her hand to the Deputy Speaker.
  6. Speaker can be dismissed only on a resolution of the House passed with a majority of all members in the House. Such a resolution has to meet some necessary conditions like: it should be particular concerning the charges, and it should not contain contentions, inferences, ironical expressions, allegations or defamatory statements, etc.
  7. Disputes should be held to charges related to the resolution. It is also compulsory to give a minimum of 14 days’ intimation of the intention to move the resolution.

Election of Speaker

In the Lok Sabha, the Lower House of the Indian Parliament, both Presiding Officers – the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are elected from among its members by a simple majority of members present and voting in the House. Indian Constitution mentions, no specific qualifications for being selected as the Speaker. The Constitution only demands that the Speaker should be a member of the House.

Functions of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha

  1. The Speaker is the head of the Lok Sabha Secretariat which functions under his/her ultimate control and direction.
  2. The Speaker’s authority over the Secretariat staff of the House, its precincts, and its security arrangements is supreme.
  3. All strangers, visitors, and press correspondents are subject to his/her discipline and orders. Any breach of an order attracts punishment utilizing exclusion from the precincts of the Parliament House or stoppage of admission tickets to the galleries for a definite or indefinite period, or in more severe cases, dealt with as contempt or breach of privilege.
  4. Any alterations or additions in the Parliament House or any new structure to be erected in the Parliament Estate requires the Speaker’s permission.

We’ve created this content for informational purposes only, and it reflects the views of its respective authors/entities (freelancers/interns) and not those of Winspire Magazine. Winspire Magazine does not endorse or vouch for the accuracy of the information provided in this content. It is the reader’s responsibility to verify and ensure the information is correct and up-to-date. Winspire Magazine disclaims any liability or responsibility for any damages or losses from using this content. Therefore, readers should take all necessary steps to verify the accuracy and reliability of any information presented in this content.


Flat no 301, Om Sri Shiva Sai Residency, Medical And Health Colony, Vanasthalipuram, Telangana 500070

Useful Links

Get in touch!

    © 2023 All Rights Reserved by Winspire Magazine

    Flat no 301, Om Sri Shiva Sai Residency, Medical And Health Colony, Vanasthalipuram, Telangana 500070

    © 2023 All Rights Reserved by Winspire Magazine