List of IPL Winners from 2008 to 2020

List of IPL Winners from 2008 to 2020

The Indian Premier League started in the year 2008. It is the professional Twenty 20 Cricket Federation in India that is disputed during March, April or May every year. In this match, eight different teams participate, claiming the eight other cities in India. The Board of Control established the league for Cricket in India (BCCI). 

Brief about IPL:

It is played only in India as the name already suggests- “Indian” Premier League. The tournament format for IPL is Double round-robin league and playoffs. The most successful team is the Mumbai Indians with the highest number of matches won, i.e. four matches. And Virat Kohli is the most successful player of the series with the highest number of runs- 5412 runs. Televisions channels broadcast these matches all over India. Hence it is the most-watched match all over the nation. 

List of the matches from 2008 till 2019 :

Year of  matchWinner TeamVenueName of the player of  matchName of the player of the series
2008Rajasthan RoyalsMumbaiYusuf PathanShane Watson
2009Deccan ChargersJohhanesburgAnil KumbleAdam Gilchrist
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbaiSuresh RainaSachin Tendulkar
2011Chennai Super KingsChennaiMurali VijayChris Gayle
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennaiManvinder BislaSunil Narine
2013Mumbai IndiansKolkataKieron PollardShane Watson
2014Kolkata Knight RidersBangaloreManish PandeyGlenn Maxwell
2015Mumbai IndiansKolkataRohit SharmaAndre Russell
2016Sunrisers HyderabadBangaloreBen CuttingVirat Kohli
2017Mumbai IndiansHyderabadKrunal PandyaBen Strokes
2018Chennai Super KingsMumbaiShane WatsonSunil Narine
2019Mumbai IndiansHyderabadJasprit BumrahAndre Russell

 Teams Participating In IPL:

Rajasthan Royals

Shane Warne escorted the team Rajasthan Royals which of Jaipur, Rajasthan. It won the first IPL. It is a kind of rigorously stabilized team with adept batsman like Shane Watson, and Graeme Smith, an explosive batsman like Yusuf Pathan in the intermediate rank followed by the illusive bowler like Sohail Tanvir, were the cornerstones of this team in the first redaction. In the Finals, Yusuf Pathan significantly contributed to his team in bowling as well as batting. Captain Steve Smith leads this team. While its coach is Andrew McDonald and Ranjit Barthakur being its chairman. It practices it’s home matches in Sawai Mansingh Stadium. It has won only 1 IPL.

Deccan Chargers

Adam Gilchrist commenced his team in the second edition of IPL. This team had spectacular hitters like Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, young Rohit Sharma. While Pragyan Ojha played a pivotal role in the match by his left-arm spin bowling rebuffing18 wickets in the tournament. While Adam incised up a total of 495 runs in 16 games.

Chennai Super Kings

It is a team located at Chennai, Tamil Nadu. The M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai hosts the event. The captain of the group is Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The owner of this team is “India Cements”, and the coach’s name is Stephen Fleming. It has won IPL 3 times and CLT20 for two times.

Mumbai Indians

It is a team which is marked by the captain “Rohit Sharma”. While the coach is Mahela Jayawardene. The owner of Mumbai Indians is “Reliance Industries” of Mumbai, Maharashtra. It was founded on 24th January 2008. The team practices its home matches in Wankhede Stadium. It has won 4 IPL matches and 2 CLT20 matches.

Kolkata Knight Riders:

KKR represents Kolkata in IPL. Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta own the franchise. The home of this team is the “Eden Gardens” stadium. The leading captain of this team is Dinesh Karthik. The coach is Brendon Mc Cullum. Owner of this team is “Red Chillies”, “Entertainment and Mehta Group”. It has won 2 IPL matches.

We’ve created this content for informational purposes only, and it reflects the views of its respective authors/entities (freelancers/interns) and not those of Winspire Magazine. Winspire Magazine does not endorse or vouch for the accuracy of the information provided in this content. It is the reader’s responsibility to verify and ensure the information is correct and up-to-date. Winspire Magazine disclaims any liability or responsibility for any damages or losses from using this content. Therefore, readers should take all necessary steps to verify the accuracy and reliability of any information presented in this content.


Flat no 301, Om Sri Shiva Sai Residency, Medical And Health Colony, Vanasthalipuram, Telangana 500070

Useful Links

Get in touch!

    © 2023 All Rights Reserved by Winspire Magazine

    Flat no 301, Om Sri Shiva Sai Residency, Medical And Health Colony, Vanasthalipuram, Telangana 500070

    © 2023 All Rights Reserved by Winspire Magazine